Kane County Road Improvement Impact Fee Advisory Committee

Kane County Government Center County Board Room

Meeting Minutes - October 31, 2007, 8:00 a.m.

Members in Attendance:

Chairman Don Wolfe Kane County Board

Kane County Economic Development Advisory Board Vice Chairman Frank Griffin

Christine Klein Fox Valley Realtors Association

Larry Keller Village of West Dundee Catherine Hurlbut Kane County Board Jan Carlson Kane County Board

Rick Dunlap Local 150

Others Present:

Kane County Division of Transportation Tom Rickert Jerry Dickson Steve Coffinbargar Heidi Files

Patrick Jaeger Kane County State's Attorney

Intersect LLC, Consultant for Kane County Karl Fry Scott Buening

Village of Sugar Grove City of St. Charles Brian Townsend City of Elgin

Tom Armstrong Village of Carpentersville Scott Marquardt

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Wolfe called the Kane County Road Improvement Impact Fee Advisory Committee meeting to order at 8:10 a.m.

II. ROLL CALL

A quorum was established with six (6) voting members present. (Griffin arrives)

III. **PUBLIC COMMENT - None**

IV. **APPROVAL OF MINUTES (April 26, 2007 meeting)**

The minutes were approved on motion by Keller, seconded by Klein. Motion carried by voice vote of 6-0.

V. **RECEIVING COMMUNICATIONS - None**

VI. REPORTS

A. FY06 Annual Report -Chairman Wolfe reminded the members that the figures being reviewed were under the old formula. Mr. Jerry Dickson reviewed the Annual Report (Hurlbut arrives) column figures, noting the county's total impact fees collected were \$5,473,284.64 minus expended monies of \$2,711,836.71, for total net fees collected of \$2,761,447.93. The only impact fee credit agreement in place was for \$426,889.40 in the Upper Fox service area. All late fees were collected. Keller moved to approve the Annual Report and direct staff to publish the figures in the **newspaper. Seconded by Rickert.** Wolfe confirmed with Dickson that projects were scheduled for the remaining \$2.7 million and the funds had to be expended within five years of collection in the eight service areas. Motion carried by voice vote of 6-0.

VII. **OLD BUSINESS**

Rickert reminded members that the new impact fee ordinance will go into effect January 1, 2008 and staff is coordinating with many of the municipalities to address their development concerns prior to the new ordinance going into effect. A procedures manual will be completed in 30 days which will be sent to the municipalities. (Carlson arrives)

NEW BUSINESS VIII.

Gifts of appreciation were distributed to the members. Wolfe extended his thanks, along with County Board Chairman McConnaughay's, to the members for their hard work and efforts in creating the ordinance.

A. Schedule Next Meeting - Staff plans to hold the next annual meeting in April or May of 2008. Wolfe

reminded the committee that members could, however, schedule a meeting sooner, if necessary.

Griffin asked for staff's input on how the ordinance was being accepted, in general, with local developers, wherein Rickert noted it would be difficult to assess due to the county still being under the old impact fee schedule. However, staff was working with a number of municipalities to get plats in order prior to the January 1st date. Staff was beginning to see more credit agreement activity as it relates to the Comprehensive Road Improvement Plan ("CRIP") and seeing better coordination of the projects within the CRIPs. Rickert expects to review some of the projects at the April meeting. Asked if there was any discussion as to how fees were being applied to specific uses, such as to a manufacturing use over a distribution use or if traffic counts played into consideration, Rickert stated those considerations were always acknowledged and staff worked with the developers to be fair in the assessment. Dir. Schoedel reported that, overall, the process was moving well and he expected minor adjustments to be made, most likely after the April meeting.

IX. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 8:25 a.m. on motion by Hurlbut, seconded by Keller. Motion carried.

Celeste Weilandt Recording Secretary